It’s been a while since my last post, and I intent to fix that. I have been very busy these past couple of months, but finally it is levelling off and hopefully I can get back to the norm. Especially my podcast, which needs some TLC. With all that being said, here is my question, are you related to a fan of a rival team?

If you are, then you know what I am talking about here. I, being an avid supporter of the Mighty Arsenal; and my brother who you guessed it, is a Tottenham Scum sup154a68165f3427f1cbac74c91a3e68c6porter. Our background does not help this rivalry either, us being Hispanic; (soccer or football depending where you’re reading this from) is in our blood, we grew up with this sport ever since we came out of our mother’s womb. Our father was a semi pro player back home so needless to say this sport is not just a sport it is a way of life. The only difference is, is that we are from a country where the rivalries are from La Liga in Spain which are the major two teams, Barcelona and Real Madrid but since we grew up in Canada for most of our lives, we would watch the EPL and thus our rivalry began.

I would say I started supporting Arsenal back in 1999 when King Henry aka Thierry Henry was signed by Arsenal. He was an emerging star and since France 98 he was beginning to be one of my favourite players. Ever since then I have had a soft spot for the French national team, I support them in ever competition right behind Canada and El Salvador of course! My brother for the most part did not really support a team; it wouldn’t be until about 2008 when he really started to support a team which was the Scum. His favourite player is Gareth Bale an up in coming youngster at the time. Now he is one of the best players in the world. For the most part we did not know that Arsenal and Tottenham were rivals, I know what a bunch of late comers right?!?! Once we found out they were, things changed to say the least. We would watch the North London Derby and go head to head. It would be/is an intense 90 minutes, if either team was losing to the other we would blame the refs because of course, it would be the refs fault for awarding penalties or free kicks on “soft fouls”. Arsenal are the better team hands down with having 77 wins to the Scums 55, so I am use to always bragging to my brother about how we are the best team in the world (which we are!) but, but…there…is…the odd time that the Scum would beat Arsenal. The latest victory for the Scum was this past NLD when their hero Harry Kane scoredforever_in_our_shadow_by_lagvilava-d4zyaxg 2 goals to beat us 2 – 1, which I must add was a bullsh*t game refs were against us the whole time. My brother would have some words to say but this isn’t his blog so we will never know haha. Needless to say he had bragging rights, he was all over me like I would not text him at all for the reminder of the weekend. Finally I got a text saying “Wow your speechless, I know what a match right?!?!” I still refused to text back. I finally caved in and text back in anger saying “Ya well it was a fluke game, the ref was on your side the entire time and your boy Kane will leave for Real Madrid next season as your precious Bale did and you’ll go back to being sh*t” haha, I was very bitter. But that’s how it goes, we will never admit that either team is good enough even though Arsenal are clearly the better team, I mean look at our midfield Lord Have Mercy! My brother would follow it up with something like “Ozil is a flop he sucks, Sanchez would have been better with us…blah, blah, blah”. It will never end I tell ya. Now to tell ya about my sister who has a soft spot for Manchester United. OH DEAR GOD!!

